The Department of Natural Resources in Ohio runs the State Parks and Watercraft Division. They are responsible for making and enforcing the laws regarding boating in Ohio, including canoeing and kayaking.
Paddling laws in Ohio, while numerous, are clear and straightforward. This makes it easy for canoeists to follow its rules and regulations, making for a safe experience on the water.
Table of Contents
Ohio Canoeing Laws Overview
Governing Body – Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Canoe Registration – all canoes, including motorized ones, must be registered in Ohio
Validation – three years
Title – titling is not required for a canoe
Cost to Register – $20 to $53
Boating License Requirements – not required for canoeists unless the canoe is employing a motor over 10 horsepower
Motorized Canoeist Age – children 12 and younger are not permitted to operate the vessel unless supervised by an adult who is 18 years of age or older and aboard the craft. If the motor is greater than 10 horsepower, children are required to meet mandatory boating education requirements.
Operating Under the Influence – no person is allowed to operate or be in physical control of a canoe while under the influence of alcohol or drugs once the craft is underway.
Mandatory Canoe Safety Equipment Overview
Ohio Life Jacket Law – all canoeists are required to carry one type 1, 2, 3, or 5 US Coast Guard-approved life jacket for each person aboard the craft.
Ohio Fire Extinguisher Law – canoeists are required to carry a fire extinguisher if the boat is employing a gas-powered motor.
Ohio Visual Distress Signal Law – visual distress signals are required for canoeists who operate their craft between sunset and sunrise.
Ohio Navigation Lights Law – canoeists are required to carry an approved navigation light if they are operating between sunset and sunrise.
Ohio Sound Signalling Device Law – only mandatory if canoeists will be paddling on Lake Erie, the Ohio River, or the Muskingum River.
Canoe Registration in Ohio
Does a canoe need to be registered in Ohio?
Registration is required for all canoes or kayaks, regardless of length or size, in Ohio. They are considered a “manually propelled” craft. Motorized canoes also must be registered in Ohio and the registrant must make it known on their application form that their canoe has a motor.
If the motor is more powerful than 10 HP it must also have a title.
What is the Canoeing Law Governing Body?
The Ohio Department of Natural Resources is the main governing body over laws pertaining to canoeing in Ohio. The ODNR State Parks and Watercraft Division oversees boating laws, rules, local ordinances and registrations.
How long is a canoe registration license valid in Ohio?
A canoe registration license in Ohio is valid for three years. After three years, and every three years thereafter, canoe owners must renew their registration.
Is a Title required on a canoe in Ohio?
A Title is not required for a canoe in Ohio; however, at the time of registration, canoe owners must provide proof of ownership such as the Bill of Sale, a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin, a Notarized Receipt, or a signed over registration form a previous owner.
How is a canoe registered in Ohio?
New canoes must be registered by mail, or in person at a Boat Registration Agent or a Watercraft Office. Call ahead of time to ensure agent availability and to verify accepted forms of payment. Initial registration must be done in person or by mail. Once the canoe is registered, renewals can be done online. The link to the registration form can be found here.
Where can a canoe be registered in Ohio?
Canoe registrations in Ohio can take place at any Boat Registration Office or Watercraft Office. It is advised to call ahead and verify agent availability. You will also be given a list of all the necessary documents needed for registration. Offices are located throughout the State. Alternatively, registrations can be mailed to the Department of Natural Resources DIVISION OF PARKS & WATERCRAFT.
What information is required to complete the canoe registration application in Ohio?
In order to register a canoe in Ohio, boat owners will need to provide the following information:
hull identification number (HIN) or Serial Number on the canoe (it is a 12 Character number)
- Hull Identification Number (HIN) or serial number on the canoe (12-character number)
- Boat number (if the canoe has been previously registered in Ohio and is up for renewal)
- Make of the Canoe
- Length of the Canoe
- Year of Manufacture
- Hull Material
- Boat type / Propulsion type (“manual” for non-motorized canoe), engine type and fuel type (if using a trolling motor)
- Personal Identification (driver’s license or other photo I.D.)
What is the cost to register a canoe in Ohio?
The cost to register a canoe in Ohio ranges from $20 to $53 depending on whether your craft is non-motorized or motorized, whether it’s a new registration or a renewal, as well as the type of registration the canoe owner chooses (numbered or unnumbered).
What are the registration options for canoes in Ohio?
There are two options for registering canoes which are manually propelled:
- Traditional Method
- Alternative Method
The traditional method means that your canoe will be numbered and you will be given square tags which must appear on the outside of your canoe. The fee for this method is less expensive than the alternative method. Numbers that appear on the side of your canoe will be easier to see than the single one tag sticker.
The alternative method means that your canoe will not be numbered and you will be given only one tag which must be affixed on your canoe. The fee for this method is more expensive than the traditional method. The single tag sticker will be more inconspicuous.
Pro Tip: Before you apply any stickers to your canoe, wipe the area with rubbing alcohol first. This will improve adhesion by removing dirt, grease, or grime.
NOTE: Whichever method you choose, a paper copy of your registration must be kept on you at all times while you’re canoeing. It must be produced if the authorities ask to see it.
Is a boating license required to operate a canoe in Ohio?
Canoeists are not required to obtain a boating license in Ohio; however, canoeists who operate a canoe with a motor over 10hp (highly unlikely) would require a boating license and a title.
Citizenship Documentation For Crossing the Border
In the event that a canoeist from Ohio decides to paddle their way across Lake Erie into Canada, they must carry citizenship documentation and vice versa.
United States citizens landing on Canadian soil and Canadian citizens landing on US soil are each required, along with the occupants of their craft, to report to designated ports of entry for inspection. Canoeists should be in possession of proper documentation (like a passport, photo ID and boat registration paperwork).
Required Safety Equipment for Canoeing in Ohio
1. One US Coast Guard approved PFD per person on board
2. One fire extinguisher if using a gas-powered trolling motor
3. US Coast Guard-approved visual distress signals (when operating on Lake Erie or immediate connecting bays, harbors, or anchorage areas) for both day and night usage
4. One international orange distress flag (2 square feet) or a US Coast Guard approved daytime distress signal (when operating on any other water than Lake Erie, or immediate connecting bays, harbors or anchorage areas)
5. Backfire flame arrestor – if using a gas-powered motor on your canoe
6. navigation lights when operating at night
7. sound signaling device – when operating on Lake Erie, the Ohio River or the Muskingum River
Ohio canoeists are required to have one US Coast Guard approved PFD on board their canoe for each person. Paddlers may choose from Type 1, 2, 3, or 5.
Type 1 – A type 1 life jacket is the best PFD for all water conditions. It is typically used in more rough, open water. A type 1 is bulky but it provides the best flotation because it is designed to to turn an unconscious person face-up.
Type 2 – A type 2 life jacket is typically used in calm waters where a rescue would happen more quickly. It is somewhat more comfortable than a type 1 and will generally turn an unconscious wearer face-up.
Type 3 – A type 3 life jacket is the most comfortable and the most common type of PFD. It is best used in calm, inland water. A type 3 is what most paddlers would wear as it is the best choice for long, continuous wear.
Type 5 – A type 5 life jacket is a special PFD designed for a specific purpose and may be used instead of other life jackets provided it is being used properly.
A fire extinguisher must be carried on board a canoe if it is operated by a gas powered motor. Extinguishers must be US Coast Guard approved and readily accessible in case of a gasoline fire.
Canoeists with an electric trolling motor or no motor do not need to carry a fire extinguisher.
Visual Distress Signals
A visual distress signal must be carried by all canoeists in Ohio if you will be paddling between sunset and sunrise. Acceptable distress signals are a flashlight OR 3 handheld red flares.
In Ohio, if you will be canoeing between sunset and sunrise you must carry an electric torch or lighted lantern showing a white light in sufficient time to prevent a collision. If at anchor this light must also stay on.
Sound Signaling Device
A sound signaling device is only mandatory for canoeists to carry in Ohio if you will be paddling in major waterways such as Lake Erie, the Ohio River or the Muskingum River. Acceptable devices are “pealess” whistles or horns.
This is the best (and least expensive) option for a portable bow light that satisfies all state/provincial boating regulations.
This is definitely the light I would get if I didn’t already have an excellent light that I use for longer wilderness trips (smaller but not as impressive as this one)!
A stern mounted white light such as this one is exactly what is mandated for use if your canoe or kayak is (for some reason) moored away from shore overnight.
Here’s our choice for an excellent small, effective, and compliant stern light for dusk to dawn voyages.
Here’s a light very similar to the one I actually use in real life on my trips!
Visual Distress Signals (VDS) – Required only on Federally-controlled waters in the state.
Here’s the most convenient night VDS that is compliant with all states and provinces.
What are the laws regarding motorized canoeist age?
If your canoe has a motor attached, Ohio boating laws indicate that children under the age of 12 are not permitted to operate the vessel unless they are under the direct visual and audible supervision of a person who is 18 years of age or older and aboard the craft.
If the motor is more than 10 horsepower, children are required to meet mandatory boating education requirements even while being supervised by a person 18 years of age or older.
What are the laws regarding operating a canoe under the influence (OUI)?
Ohio laws are very clear about operating any craft while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. It states that no person is allowed to operate or be in physical control of any vessel that is underway. In State Parks, the overt and public consumption of beer or any intoxicating liquor or substance is not permitted unless it is done in a private location such as a cabin, lodge, camping vehicle, or tent OR in areas authorized by the Chief of the Division of Parks and Watercraft.
Ohio Boat Operators Guide
The Ohio Boat Operators Guide can be found here.