Fortunately, the governing bodies that oversee Connecticut’s boating regulations and laws have understood that less is more, and have minimized government involvement as it relates to your kayak or canoe.
Connecticut canoe and kayak laws allow for non-motorized vessels to be exempt from registration. However, it is mandatory for all canoes and kayaks to have onboard a life jacket for each person and a loud sound-making device like a whistle.
Table of Contents
Connecticut Canoeing/Kayaking Laws Overview
The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is the organization responsible for enforcing and overseeing boating laws in the state of Connecticut.
State Police officers as well as game and fish Wardens are also tasked with enforcing boating/canoe/kayak boating regulations.
Here is a link to more information on all the boating laws and regulations in Connecticut
Canoe Registration – Unpowered (human-powered) boats are not required to be registered as long as no trolling motor is attached.
Title – You will NOT need to title your canoe or kayak in Connecticut if your vessel is not powered by a motor of some sort. If your canoe or kayak is motorized, it still likely will not need titling if it is shorter than 19.5 feet, or older than model year 2017.
Canoe/Kayak License Requirements – If the craft is powered by human means, it does not need to be registered.
Canoe/Kayak Operator Requirements – No certification or special education is required to operate a non-powered canoe/kayak or a motorized canoe/kayak.
Who needs a Connecticut boating education certification? – If you will be operating a vessel with a motor larger than 10 hp, you’ll need a boating safety certification card. You’ll also need to be at least 16 years old AND be accompanied by someone at least 21 years old with a certification card as well.
Connecticut’s boating rules are a bit more strict than most other states, but only as it relates to motors in excess of 10 hp. Otherwise, there are very few restrictions.
Operating Under the Influence – No person is allowed to operate or be in physical control of a motorboat or vessel (we assume this includes canoes and kayaks) while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Anyone caught with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher will be in violation of BUI (boating under the influence) laws.
Emergency Equipment Requirements – As in most jurisdictions, a wearable personal flotation device needs to be accessible to everyone in a vessel in the state of Connecticut.
The minimum legal requirements for emergency equipment on your vessel (canoe/kayak) includes the following:
- Life jackets— U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jackets, of the right size and type, for everyone on board
- A white navigation light—during low visibility such as fog, heavy rain, night time, dawn or dusk. It must be visible from all angles (or at minimum, a “navigation” light deployable in sufficient time to prevent a collision)
- Visual Distress Signal – Not necessary in UNLESS you are on Federal waters after sunset and before sunrise.
- Sound Producing Device – Typically an emergency whistle capable of making a “loud” noise.
Do I Need a License or permit of any kind in order to canoe or kayak in Connecticut?
Any vessel that is not powered by an electric or other motor, does not need licensing, registering, or titling in Connecticut.
Also, you won’t need registration if you bring your canoe or kayak from another state (where it is operated legally with valid registration if required) and use it in Connecticut for less than 60 days.
You may register and title your motorized canoe (if applicable) using THIS LINK.
Do I Need a Title for my Canoe or Kayak in Connecticut?
I could find no statutes in the Connecticut boating laws that address the issue of titling a non-motorized vessel.
However, if your canoe or kayak is motorized, AND 19.5 feet or longer, AND is manufactured more recently than in 2017, you’ll need to title your vessel.
Do I Need a License or Registration in Connecticut if my Canoe or Kayak has a Motor?
Yes, you’ll need to register your motorized canoe in Hawaii. All motorized vessels with any kind of motor (gas or electric) and any level of power, will need to be registered (Certificate of Number) in Connecticut and also display the appropriate decals/numbers.
You’ll need to have your Certificate of Number available for inspection if asked by an enforcement officer.
Canoe/Kayak Operator Requirements for Motorized and Non-Motorized Vessels in Connecticut
Do I have to be a certain age in Connecticut to operate a canoe with an electric trolling motor?
Connecticut does NOT require that you be a certain age or have certification to operate a canoe with a trolling motor. Unless the motor is larger than 10 hp (which no motor on any normal canoe or kayak would ever be), then no certification is required.
That said, it’s never a bad idea to choose to be safety certified for the sake of your own peace of mind as well as potential insurance savings on your motorized vessel.
Here’s where you can begin your State-approved Boater Safety Course.
Alcohol – Operating Under the Influence in the State of Connecticut
Is it illegal to drink alcohol while paddling my canoe in Connecticut?
It is illegal in Connecticut to operate a boat while intoxicated. A boater is considered “intoxicated” if his/her blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher.
However, if a boater is impaired by any substance, including prescription drugs, marijuana, or other narcotics, they can still be charged with impaired boating if they fail to pass a field sobriety test or their actions give evidence of their intoxication.
Connecticut Boating Emergency Equipment Requirements
Every state has a slightly different take on what is required or suggested regarding life jackets. I’m a pretty good swimmer, but it’s just become a habit now for me to wear a PFD at all times.
In my case, I’ll cheat a bit and take it off or open it for a while if it’s insanely hot and the water is calm, but as a rule, I’d say wear one all the time!
What are the required items I’ll need legally while canoeing/kayaking in Connecticut?
You’ll need a number of items of gear for legal and safe travel on Connecticut’s waterways.
Life Jacket – You will be required by law to have a readily accessible and wearable PFD (personal flotation device) for everyone on board your canoe/kayak. They need to be Type I, II or III (or a wearable V)
Throwable Flotation Devices – Not mandatory in canoes or kayaks.
Manual Bailing Device – Not officially mandatory, but it’s a VERY good idea to have one.
Visual Distress Signals (VDS) – Not required unless your vessel is in Federally-controlled waters.
If you are on Federally controlled waters after dark, your canoe/kayak will need to have a minimum of three night VDS’s (or day/night VDS’s like a flare or red meteor). You do not need to carry a daytime VDS if you are operating a human-powered canoe or kayak.
Note: The VDS requirement assumes you are on the water after dark.
Navigation Lights – Unpowered vessels require, at minimum, a bright white lantern with enough luminosity to prevent a collision. These lights are required only when the boat is anchored or moving anytime between sunset and sunrise.
Sound Devices – Officially, Connecticut requires canoes and kayaks to have a loud sound-producing device audible for great distances. Loud human voices are not acceptable.
Fire Extinguishers – Not required in canoes/kayaks
Emergency Locator Beacons – Not required, but I’ve included this piece of equipment because I believe it is something EVERY canoeist and kayaker should have regardless of where they will paddle. ACR makes a very good model (pictured below).
ACR makes the best Emergency Locator Beacon … in my opinion!
Life Jackets for Various Vessels in Connecticut
Canoes or kayaks of any size/length need to have aboard a Type I, II or III US Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device for each person on board.
Anyone under the age of 13 needs to be WEARING an approved PFD while in the vessel WHILE it is underway.
As usual, certain vessels are exempt from the PFD laws, including racing canoes and racing kayaks in addition to rowing skulls and other racing vessels powered by wind or paddles.
IMPORTANT: It’s worth a mention to note that the PFD must be in good condition (not full of rips/tears with broken straps, etc.) AND must be readily accessible, AND must be of the proper size for the intended user.
Emergency Sound Device (Connecticut Boating Law)
According to Connecticut boat laws, all boats within the state boundaries need to have a device that makes a very loud noise.
In Connecticut, any powered or unpowered canoe or kayak MUST have a loud noise-making device that can produce a sustained blast for 4-6 seconds and can be heard for at least a mile. A loud human voice is not acceptable.
We regularly use the FOX 40 whistle that you can get HERE for around $10!
That said, if you’re feeling adventurous, there is a louder whistle that exceeds the typical 115 to 120 decibel level of the Fox 40 line of whistles. The Hyper-Whistle is a great alternative to the Fox 40 though it’s a few dollars more and a tiny bit bigger.
It offers a 2-mile range and can hit up to 142 decibels (dB). You can check it out on Amazon for only about $5 more than the Fox 40.
You may also choose to have an air horn or other device that does not require your lung power, but I find a whistle is more than adequate given its smaller size, lower price, and because it’s maintenance-free and never has to be replaced or recharged or “checked” unless it’s lost.
Canoe/Kayak Emergency Lighting Connecticut Boating Law)
Do I need special lights for my canoe in Connecticut?
If you are operating an unpowered canoe or kayak, you’ll need to have AT LEAST a bright white lantern that produces a light that is visible from every angle and displayed in sufficient time to prevent a collision and is visible for 2 miles in clear conditions.
All craft (including canoes/kayaks) must display a white light visible from all angles if anchored anywhere OTHER THAN a designed mooring area.
The State of Connecticut encourages users of kayaks and canoes (after dark) to display the bow red/green lights as well when underway. I’ve included a photo and link below to the best option (which is also the cheapest) for a canoe or kayak.
This is the best (and least expensive) option for a portable bow light that satisfies all state/provincial boating regulations.
This is definitely the light I would get if I didn’t already have an excellent light that I use for longer wilderness trips (smaller but not as impressive as this one)!
A stern mounted white light such as this one is exactly what is mandated for use if your canoe or kayak is (for some reason) moored away from shore overnight.
Here’s our choice for an excellent small, effective, and compliant stern light for dusk to dawn voyages.
Here’s a light very similar to the one I actually use in real life on my trips!
Visual Distress Signals (VDS) – Required only on Federally-controlled waters in the state.
Here’s the most convenient night VDS that is compliant with all states and provinces.
Connecticut Canoe / Kayak Fire Extinguisher Law
Fire extinguishers are not required for canoes or kayaks for obvious reasons. If you should find yourself in a situation where a fire breaks out in your canoe, a simple splash of water (or barring that, a controlled capsize) should do the trick nicely.
Connecticut Boating Rules and Certification Information
Connecticut Boating Guide can be found HERE
Paddlesports Ideas and Locations for Connecticut
Connecticut Boater Safety Course